If You Can Swing, It Don’t Mean A Thing 6136

I read some glowing reviews of Donald Walford’s shows throughout the south, which has given his album a leg up because it’s going to be released this Friday. Amber said she’s releasing it because of the public demand, which is what I wanted to hear.

Who says you have to be young and pretty to create a public stir?

As I was telling Blake about the terrific reviews, E. Jr. stopped over and said that I needed to look at a band. “I thought we were going easy on that for a spell,” I replied. “Take a look at this band,” he said before turning on his tablet, which showed a group of older guys taking the stage. “Hello, we’re Paul Palinski and the Paupers from DeKalb, Illinois, and we’re here to rock you out,” the frontman said, who I’m assuming is Paul Palinski. He counted down from three, and then the band tore into a song called, “Get Movin” a rollicking rocker in the style of the early sixties, but a whole lot harder. The band is tight, and their musicianship is first-rate. They then performed, Leadfoot” another raucous tune that they knocked out of the park. “”Ain’t Gonna Cry” and “Drunk and Stupid” kept the festivities going at the joint where they were laying to the delight of the crowd. Paul’s strong vocals and solid harp playing added to the band stellar sound that included a hotshot guitarist and kickass drummer and bassist. “Man, they sure can play and entertain a crowd. I take it all those songs are originals,” I asked E. Jr. “Yes, they were all written by members of the band.” “Are there any more songs?” “No, but I got them a gig at Gowan’s on Friday, which will take them some out of their way, but they know what it means.” I’ve seen other performances, Scragg, but they had profanity from the crowd, and they weren’t the best quality, so I told them to take them down and replace them with better sounding vids,” E. Jr.” “Okay, let’s see what happens,” I replied. I looked at Blake, who said that she liked the way they played. “They’re older, but that’s supposedly just a number,” E. Jr. then said. “How old are they?” Paul just turned 60, the guitarist, Jim Banasek is 59. The bassist, Steve Krinsley is 62. I don’t know the name of the drummer because he’s never been mentioned, but he looks about 60,” E. Jr. replied. “What’s the story behind them?” “They all lost their jobs; Paul and Jim worked at a meat packing plant in DeKalb. Steve lost his job in Sycamore, which I guess is by DeKalb.” “Why hasn’t the drummer been mentioned,” I asked. “I don’t know, I’ve just talked to Paul, Scragg.” “Okay, we can find out tomorrow.” “Oh yeah, Scragg, Donald Walford alerted me to these guys,” Jr. added. “Cool, he’s sure doing well.”

Blake and I did some shopping and then headed back to the farm. We talked about Paul Palinski and the Paupers, and we both agreed that it’s a likable band with a fantastic sound. Blake then made mention of their ages. “That Donald Walford is older and some of the other bands on the label have older members. I think it’s wonderful because they sound better than the young bands,” my wife added. “They’ve been playing longer,” I replied. “Exactly, and they have more depth and feeling” “That’s right, but it’s not always an easy sell,” I replied. “It hasn’t stopped anyone on this label,” Blake countered. “You’re right, it hasn’t.” “Is it even an issue, Elmer?” “I don’t believe it is because I never hear Amber of E. Sr. talk about it.” “Maybe your label is setting a new trend,” Blake then remarked.

If you can play then who cares how old you are. If you can bring the folks out then what’s the big deal about age? Age may be a tad more than a number, but if you can swing, it don’t mean a thing.

And I’ve seen more youngsters broken down than old fogeys.

Published in: on February 14, 2019 at 7:14 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://scraggman.wordpress.com/2019/02/14/if-you-can-swing-it-dont-mean-a-thing-6136/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment