Low Maintenance Artists 6534

The South American tour has gone swimmingly, and we’re setting attendance records every time we play, despite having an abbreviated lineup, which I thought might affect the enthusiasm.

Rory, Kim, Glen, and Enrico didn’t join us for this tour for professional and personal reasons. Rory is set to star in the adaptation of my novella, “Flags” while Kim stayed home to repair the damage his past transgressions have created. Glen is in New York doing session work with the jazz giants, and Enrico is focusing on his solo career.

That’s a lot of talent to lose.

Fortunately, Brandon Basil and Benji Sonser have stepped in on bass and drums, and have played amazing every night. I didn’t bring another guitarist, or backup singer, so it’s Kirby, Myron Tom, Benji, and Brandon getting it done.

Just another word on Brandon and Benji.

Rory and Glen are amazing musicians, but so are Brandon and Benji. I picked them because I knew how great they are, and how they create the magic for the Clyde Zugg Band without much recognition. When I asked them to tour with me, they were floored, but I reminded them of their sublime skills, which have wowed the audiences down here. Kirby remarked at how proficient both men are, and how unfazed they are under the spotlight, which is another reason I chose them. I couldn’t help but smile when Rory and Glen called to say how awesome we sound with Brandon and Benji, and I didn’t have to strain to hear the envy.

Another quality of Brandon and Benji is their low maintenance, which has made the transition seamless. I haven’t heard either one of them complain about anything, and they couldn’t care less about fame. I told them that we could serve them dog food, and they wouldn’t gripe.

In short, Brandon and Benji are low maintenance artists who define the word ‘sublime’ which is about as high a praise you can give a fellow musician.

Published in: on March 14, 2024 at 4:24 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://scraggman.wordpress.com/2024/03/14/low-maintenance-artists-6534/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment