The Depths Of Cheapness 6528

Blake hit the road for a short stint, but was in a much better frame of mind this time. She’ll be doing a few talk shows in New York, and then some book signings, before coming back home.

The girls started school, and Bambi and my grown daughters are pulling together while I work a little film called, “The Depths” a spooky story about a sunken WWII German military transport ship that is supposedly cursed because two submersibles perished trying to reach the ship. Jordan convinced me to do the film, and promised it wouldn’t take long. Kevin also got corralled, which will mark the first time we starred in a movie since “Small Time” The flick is being shot as cheaply as possible, which means there are few frills; however, Jordan has a crack team of techs who can make anything look real.

And a sunken ship at the bottom of the ocean is no exception.

Kevin and I went to the studio to find a large aquarium filled with seawater with a replica of a sunken ship at the bottom. As we gave it a closer look, we were stunned to see that it looked like the ocean floor, complete with a debris field. “The MV Hans Voss,” a young tech said with pride. “And how was it sunk,” I asked? “By a Soviet sub, sir.” “This looks real,” Kevin remarked in awe. “Yep, now get in the submersible,” Jordan said as we walked into the studio. “Where is it,” I asked. “There,” Jordan said, pointing to a contraption with four seats that appeared to be oval-shaped. The tech then put the fiberglass shell over it, and it became a realistic submersible. “The Holy Diver,” Jordan declared. “You rip that off, Dio,” I asked. “Yep, but I digress, get in it,” Jordan replied. Kevin and I took a seat in the prop, and Jordan declared that we were ready. “For what,” I asked? “Shooting.” “Now?” “Yep, let’s go.”

What the…

I play Jim Sturge, the owner and builder on the Holy Diver, while Kev play J.J. Alters, a marine biologist. Two other actors will play a billionaire, and a reporter. “Hold on to your dicks because here we go,” Jordan said. “Who wrote the script,” I asked. “I did,” Jordan replied. “Okay, it’s your game, but I’m keeping you to your word about this being quick.” “You ain’t seen quick, Scragg, so strap yourself in.”

Oh, shit.

Jordan knows how to make cheap movies look grand; or at least not cheap, so I’m confident this project will look good. Kev and I aren’t putting ourselves out that much, and we’ll get a nice chunk of money if all goes well. Anyway, here we go.

We’re mining the depths of cheapness.

Published in: on August 25, 2023 at 9:02 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://scraggman.wordpress.com/2023/08/25/the-depths-of-cheapness-6528/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment